Pan-seared Artichokes with Kinda Spicy Mayo Dip

I really need to apologize to all of you. I think this is the first post since hmmmm…geez, I don’t even know when. That’s bad. That’s real bad. Nice motivator I am. I promise to get better. I need to get in my groove again. Instead of fretting about some sappy story to tell you on why I love artichokes so much, I will just tell you about my day-to-day go-alongs. Sounds ok, right?
About artichokes, though…I do love them. They are unfreakingbelieavably tasty. I will try to come up with a bunch of artichoke recipes until you say, “What the hell? Another artichoke dish?” Well, maybe I won’t go that far. But this is my first artichoke recipe that I am posting and for sure it is a good one. How many times can I say artichoke? Now I know why I haven’t posted in eons. I was doing you all a favor.

Sooo…what you will need:
4 whole, large artichokes, halved {outer leaves removed, stems peeled, chokes removed (I use a teaspoon for the choke part…works like a charm)}
Olive oil
Salt & Pepper

Kinda Spicy Mayo Dip (mix all together and viola)
1 cup homemade mayo or organic mayo
2 tbsp Dijon mustard
Juice of 1 lemon
Salt & Pepper
1 teaspoon or more of Paleo Sriracha

Bring a big pot of water to a boil. Add salt and juice of 1/2 lemon. Add halved and cleaned artichokes and boil until tender, about 15-20 minutes.

dryingontowel

Once tender, drain the artichokes and place on a jelly roll pan layered with paper towels to let cool.

pouroilsaltandpepper

Once cooled, pour olive oil over top and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

brownfacedown

Heat a large nonstick skillet. Place artichokes flat side down and pan-sear until golden brown, about 5 minutes.

alreadybrownedononeside

Turn over and repeat on the other side. Serve with Dip and eat your face off.

xoxo,

Madi

 

Leave a comment