“Oh My Gah” Salad

I named this salad after what my brother (Greg) kept repeating while he was shoveling forkfuls into his face. My Mom (Angela aka Ang) made this salad for us on Saturday and yes, it was just a salad, but no, it wasn’t just a salad, if you get my drift. This salad was extraordinary. Maybe because of the oh-so-fresh ingredients or maybe because my mom is a miracle worker or maybe because we were just so freaking hungry. Not sure. All I know is that Ang and I just stared at my brother with our mouths agape wondering if he could breathe. I really didn’t feel like giving the heimlich that night so I’m glad he had control of himself. Anyway, here is the recipe for the salad. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Photo

  • 2 Heirloom Tomatoes, sliced
  • 4 yellow (roasted**) peppers, sliced
  • 1 lb mix of green and white string beans, blanched
  • 1 shallot, finely chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, finely chopped
  • 1 tablespoon champagne vinegar
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

Get a pretty platter. Arrange tomato slices on bottom, then the roasted pepper slices. Top with the green/white beans.

In a small bowl, add the shallot, garlic, olive oil, vinegar, salt and pepper. Whisk. Drizzle on top of salad. OH MY GAH. Enjoy.

**To roast peppers, put them on an open flame and wait until they turn black or put them in a 500 degree oven turning 2 or more times until they char, about 30-40 minutes.  After peppers char, put in a paper bag and close it up. In about 30 minutes or so, they will be cool enough to handle. Remove the stems and all the charred skin. Quarter them and remove the seeds. Drizzle with olive oil. Viola.

 

Leave a comment